top of page

The Judges

About us. Our work. Our passion

about us


The jury of the European Powerboat Award is put together from test riders and editors-in-chief of the leading European motorboat-magazines. Båtmagasinet (Norway), BoatMag (Italy), BOOTE (Germany), Motorboot (Netherlands), MoteurBoat (France), Nautica y Yates (Spain), Neptune (France), Marina CH (Switzerland) and last but not least Yachtrevue (Austria).

In total, our magazines represent over one million monthly readers in Europe and far beyond. Besides the print products, our magazines cover a much larger range, containing digital channels like websites, Facebook sites, Instagram pages and YouTube channels, providing information about boating to millions of users across the world.


This makes the “European Powerboat Award” the most important award of this industry worldwide.

The organization and implementation of the award ceremony is carried out by the BOOTE editorial apartment in Hamburg, who launched this award in 2005.

Meet The Team

Torsten Moench


Ole Henrik Nissen-Lie Helmsman.jpeg

Ole Henrik Nissen-Lie

Yvonne Zwaan

Michel Luizet


Claudio Russo


Daniel Aznar Paris.jpg

Daniel Aznar Paris


Lori Schüpbach

Marina CH


Roland Regnemer





The announcement of the nominees is traditionally held during the exhibition in Cannes. The public announcement of the nominees takes place in the December-issues of the nine participating magazines, as well as their digital channels.

Following the nominating-phase, the Jury meets each year again in November, to vote for the final winners. Criteria’s like workmanship, safety, driving behaviour, design, distribution of space and the price-performance ratio are considered and rated and compared on an internal scoring system. The boat that has the most points in its class, will be awarded with the well-earned title: “European Powerboat of the Year”.


The winners are announced during the Flagship-Night, which takes place during the first night of the boot exhibition. The festive gala event is hosted by the Delius Klasing publishing house, in cooperation with the exhibition Düsseldorf.


The award ceremony is representatively hosted by Torsten Moench, in the name of all participating magazines. Nominated shipyards are automatically invited to this event.


Thank You

bottom of page